
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Reactivation/Reinstatement of Your Nursing License 

 
1. Complete Continuing Education (CE) requirements (see below) and upload the CE 

documents through the online application. All CEs must have been completed during the 24-month 
period immediately BEFORE the date of the Reactivation/Reinstatement application. 

 
a. CE documents must be in the form of a completion certificate issued by the CE provider 

and include the provider name, number of contact hours, and name of the OBN approver. 
A school transcript may also be submitted.  

 
b. Category A is CE on Ohio Law and Rules that is approved by an OBN Approver or offered 

by an OBN approved provider unit headquartered in Ohio.  
 

c. For detailed information/FAQs about CE, see the CE Charts below, or go to 
www.nursing.ohio.gov.  

 
2. Apply at https://elicense.ohio.gov/OH_CommunitiesLogin using the Reactivation/Reinstatement 

application. If you are not registered in Ohio eLicense, click on the “Do You Need Help 
Registering?” link. For questions, email  renewal@nursing.ohio.gov. 

 
3. Complete BCI (Civilian) and FBI (Federal) criminal records checks (CRCs) if your license has 

been inactive or lapsed for 5 years or more.  (See Rule 4723-14-03(E), OAC.) Go to 
www.nursing.ohio.gov for information about obtaining and submitting CRCs.   

CE CHARTS 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
  

   

 

 

 

Has your Ohio license been inactive or lapsed less than 2 years? 
OR 

Do you have a current, valid license in another jurisdiction? 
  

If you answer yes to either one of these questions, then the following 24 Contact Hours of CE are 
required: 

Category A – Ohio Law and Rule – 1 hour   
General Nursing Practice – 23 hours 

 
All CEs must have been completed during the 24-month period immediately BEFORE the date of the 
reinstatement or reactivation application 

Has your Ohio license been inactive or lapsed 2 years or more? 
AND 

You do not have a current, valid license in another jurisdiction? 
 

If you answer yes to both of these questions, then the following 24 Contact Hours of CE are required: 
 

Category A – Ohio Law and Rule – 2 hours (scopes of practice RNs and LPNs, standards of 
safe practice, and nursing delegation) 
Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning Nursing Process, or Nursing Judgment – 6 hours 
Pharmacology – 6 hours (drug classifications, medication errors, and patient safety) 
Clinical or Organizational Ethical Principles – 2 hours 
Content relevant to Nurse’s Practice – 8 hours 

 
All CEs must have been completed during the 24-month period immediately BEFORE the date of the 
reinstatement or reactivation application. 

 


